Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Correct petrol for my bike?

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' at netrider.net.au started by Kooka, Aug 24, 2006.

1. Hi, all... 'first time poster long time reader'.

I have been riding for only a few months on my 1996 250 Hornet and in that time I have been experimenting with different petrols i.e unleaded, premium etc. all from different service stations.
    I have heard reports that I should never put high octane petrol in my bike? Is this the same for octane booster additives also? Due to the potential damage to spark plugs etc?Is this true?
    Also I do understand that there are differences in quality of petrol from different petrol stations.
    Does anyone have recommendations and preferences for petrol and which service stations etc?
    Your thoughts are most welcome.
    Glad to be on-board (both my bike and the forum)