Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Cornering Lines. Track vs Road

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by mogley, Sep 19, 2012.

1. Hi all,

So I'm trying to work on my cornering lines for the road focusing on safety first and foremost and am getting confused with what was taught at the MOST and conventional wisdom.

Am i right in thinking generally on a race track we take the fastest line, wide entry, apex and throttle on with wide exit but on the road we want to enter wide but avoid the head on zone/apex and focus on a tight exit? (for right handers anyway, but even with left handers i prefer to stay as wide as long as possible to open up the corner for visibility and tend to finish tight)

2. im no expert but i would say road lines vary greatly depending on if its a right hand or left hand corner.....

what i mean is on a right hander i only use the other side of the road if i have clear vision through the corner when im setting up.... as youd only need the other lane for the apex.

on left corners you have a clear apex and can assess if or how far to use the right hand side of the road both approaching the corner for the entry and again after the apex for the exit... so you dont have to see ALL the way through the corner, just far enough to know you will or can be back on your side on entry... and again as the corner opens up if you can see its clear to use the other side of the road you can twist and use it.