Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Cornering in the wet - how to learn your limits (safely!)

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by tirian, Jun 20, 2008.

1. Hi guys,

I've been riding for 6 months now, and my riding continues to improve frm week to week as I try to put into practise all the stuff I was taught in the learners and license courses.

One area that puzzles me is how to learn the limits of my bike with regards to cornering in the wet. I must admit I go so slow around corners (roundabouts and at intersections) when it's raining I probably annoy other drivers. But I'm not sure how to discern the limits of the bike without pushing it so hard I get that "sinking" and "crashing" kind of feeling.

Any thoughts - just be patient an let exprience build up incrementally?

Matt

2. I just try and improve everytime I ride in the wet. I try and stick to roads and corners I know (so I don't get caught out). But remember its wet and will go slower and the road apparently is not a race track!

Ride more often in the wet.

3. i am very confident in the dry now - but im the same in the wet - totally annoy the crap out of drivers as I go around so slowly..

mostly because i know that my tires need to be changed! once i get new ones i will just gradually take corners at a little more speed and angle..and feel out the limits..

at the end of the day, do you think those drivers that you annoy will give a shit if you are wrapped around a pole somewhereo nthe side of the road? Are they going to do your recovery or pay your medical bills? most definitely not - so im going to go as slow as I must to be safe.