Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

cornering advice

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by raman_ra, Dec 9, 2008.

1. hi all,

This is my first time asking for advice/tips on Netrider, so here goes:

I've been riding for about two weeks and I can pretty more or less handle all of Canberra's roads. However, when it comes to cornering, expecially with sharper ones (e.g. some of the ones up black mountain), I lose confidence and end up taking the turn slower than i probably could. I'm a bit afraid of leaning the bike over too far or having the back end slide out (probably unjustified).

How can I build up my confidence/lean (and hence speed) through corners????

Also, when i'm taking the corner I tend to just follow the road instead of taking a particular line. Is there a line I should follow? Do I visualise some imaginary line and keep my eyes on it?

Lastly, I always take roundabouts really slowly and i only lean the bike a slight amount. How can i go 270 degrees without running wide? Where do i keep my eyes (right now it's sort of slightly ahead of me) ??

Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated. :)

2. find an empty car park and ride circles and figures of eight. you have to lean to keep it tight and it translates to the road when you get back out there. just take it easy and it will come.
  3. Take it easy and it will slowly come to you.

It's very much like childhood development where you need to learn how to crawl before walking (very cliche i know)
  4. Practice, practice and practice. You'll look back in 12 months and wont believe how much better you are.
    Ride with others who know what they're doing.
    Ask for a mentor here.
    Trust the bike.