Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Corect Technique on Hill Starts

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by bmacka67, Jan 21, 2008.

1. Hi all - another Noob here..picked up my new 250 on weekend so still getting use to it...Virago BTW..1 question I have is whats best technique (correct one) for starting off from lights when you have pulled up on a steep hill...I'm thinking left foot down..bike in 1st..right foot on rear and ready to hit throttle for take off..am I right?

2. Load the drivetrain by letting the clutch out a little before you start to release the brake. You can use either brake, in fact I would recommend getting used to using the front, as sooner or later you'll get a cambered hill start where you need to have your right foot down.
  3. re hill starts

thanx Devotard - I think I know how to do it in my head just now getting use to it in practice...no diff. to when I first started driving and trying to do a hill start on Toorak rd near Cloes Head Office!! Except dont have luxury of a hand brake on bike!

4. Yep, same as a car but with two exceptions.

1. You won't fry your clutch as quickly.
    2. It's considerably more unnerving rolling backwards on a bike unless you're used to it.

So ride that clutch, then let the brake off. It'll turn into one fluid movement with practice.
  5. Your OP is correct. Forget the front brake...and use the rear. On steep hills there is no weight on the front tyre...and will not hold you.
  6. yep, the op has it pretty much right, just find that fiction point and be smooth with the throttle and slowly release your brake pressure.