Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Coolant Leaking, Vtr250

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by magin, Nov 17, 2012.

1. So today I was changing the oil on my VTR250.

It was the first time I had attempted this, but it all seemed very simple, besides getting that soft metal washer off the sump plug that had been squished onto the threads.

Anyway... I put a new oil filter in, holding the part with paper towel.

Afterwards I noticed a small greenish-blue stain on the paper towel (less than five cent piece sized). Figured it was probably coolant and checked over the bike (I am a complete mechanical noob). I wiped around the bike with some white paper towel, and discovered about a droplet of coolant on what I believe is the water pump cover (left hand side of the bike... a thick hose from the radiator connects to it).

I am pretty sure that the coolant wouldn't have come from anywhere else than this cover. All the hoses seemed intact, and it was only about another droplet that I discovered with paper towel. I had wiped over the hoses and about the other parts of the bike with paper towel looking for a leak.

Checked the reservoir and the coolant level was normal. I can't remember what it was last time I checked, but it was near the upper limit this time.

Is one droplet of coolant maybe a harbinger of doom? Could my bike suddenly loose all of its coolant very suddenly? By the way, if using white paper towel to show up coloured liquids is not a commonly used technique... it seems to work very well!

I am just wondering, how urgent does this need to be fixed (eg. should I not ride the bike at all before getting it seen to) and are there some simple things that I could possibly do to fix it myself?