Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Coolant in the Oil - top end?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by Steamfrog, Jan 28, 2011.

1. Hello I have had a 2nd hand Aprilia Ebay horror story. The shop is quoting 1800 for an engine rebuild because the motor is blown and there is coolant in the oil.

I am a noob mechanic and was wondering if this is just a top end rebuild?
    I can buy the complete kit in the uk cheaper than here and do it myself.

Or do I need to buy the complete rebuild kit as coolant in the oil is more than a top end fix.

P.s anyone know a good mechanic in Sydney that is cheaper than $1800 if I supply all new parts?

Thanks in advance.
    DREW

Oops.. Bike is 2001 RS 125

2. if its a two stroke its not the top end $1800dosent sound too much if they do the job properly

3. The only way coolant can get into the oil on a 2 stroke is through the waterpump seal. About an hour to 2 hours work and maybe $10 in parts. Someone's pulling your chain. What do you mean by "the engine is blown"? Does it still run? Or are you panicking because there's coolant in the oil?

4. clarification $1800 sounds good for total rebuild including crank & nicoseal

5. You're best to clarify what the quote included.

All the work can be done by yourself if you are reasonably mechanically minded.

6. As has been said. If that is water in the gearbox oil then the water pump shaft seal has died. That's a cheap and easy fix. If it's still running that's likely all that's wrong. Hell you could buy a whole new water pump and DIY install it and still be far better off then that laughable $1800 repair job.