Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Converting a road bike to a dedicated track bike

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' at netrider.net.au started by Captn Spock, Dec 14, 2011.

1. Hi all,

I am a novice in regards to bike maintenance. This is a serious question and I am genuinely seeking to understand the effort and cost here. Any constructive input is welcome!

I have been considering converting my only bike to a track bike. The idea is not to enter racing as such ( I'm 26 and too old to start racing now anyway). But more to continue to develop my riding skills in a controlled environment.

The bike is a stock 2005 Kawasaki ZX6R (636) with 24000 kms on the clock.

I want to understand, the effort and estimated cost to do the following -

1. Replacing stock fairings with race fairings.
    2. Aftermarket (possibly Ohlins?) suspension and getting it setup for me.
    3. Get crash knobs installed.

The above three are the most basic tasks I would have thought I need to do to get it to an exclusive track bike state. Is there anything else that one needs to do or is recommended?

I am currently trying to get a feeling for how much a trailor and a towbar will cost me.

I can afford a race ready track bike for that matter and keep my 6 as-is. But the wife will not let me own another road bike. So I am also weighing up the fact that I will have to give up road riding completely if I do this.

Thanks again.

2. Lights, remove them, indicators etc. It is a requirement for racing but even for a track only bike it probably makes sense.

3. Crash knobs are mostly for saving drop damage, at higher speeds they occasionally result in frame damage, so most alot of trackies dont have them at all, just little pucks on wheel axes/swingarm plus case protectors.