Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Conflicted Newbie

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Jatta, Apr 27, 2011.

1. Hi Everyone

I have a dilema & need some opinions.
    After years of my husband wanting a motorbike I have decided that hubby deserves to have a bike and I am planning to get him one for his 40th birthday in August.
    I am a total newbie to all of this & know I will need some help & guidance as cars/bikes are not my thing lol.
    Hubbys brother & sister in law are both owners of bikes so who better than to go to for advice?? WRONG, apparently the story is the sold their bikes due to them being dangerous and having a few near misses :-s
    So now they are very reluctant to help me as they think its a bad idea. I now feel that if I were to go through with this and something were to happen that my inlaws will blame me for it & I will blame myself. Is it wrong of my brother in law to dictate what his older brother can and cant do, am I wrong in thinking that hubby is old enough to make his own decisions? I feel so conflicted about this, and now I do not have anyone at all to guide me through this whole process :?
  2. Get the bike :)

He wants it. You'd officially be the coolest wife in the world!

Hubby is old enough to decide for himself, and I don't think there's a better 40th pressie than a bike!
  3. 1. I think it's his decision, not the family's.
    2. A bike would be a great present, but not a surprise present. Tell him, take him shopping, discuss which bike with him.
    3. There is an element of risk. You can get hurt or killed doing this. In a way, that's part of the appeal.