Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

complete noob - need help

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Matt GO!!!!!!!, May 10, 2007.

1. Hey i have a lot of questions can people please help, I don't know much about bikes, these may seem like silly trivial questions to a lot of people....

1. I am really considering buying this bike it's a 150cc (I need less than 250cc as im going to be on learners :cry: )

2001 HONDA NSR150

Type Speedway Racers
    Make HONDA
    Model NSR150
    Series SP SPORTS
    Year 2001
    Capacity (cc) 150
    kms 18,326
    Price $3,490
    Reference Code DPLBi38690
    Stock Number 802044
    VIN 6H6NS15041V000174
    Registration No. YH729

would a 150cc have enough power and be safe enough, easy to use, reliable etc for a learner??

2. My previous riding experience is a 50cc scooter at the coast during schoolies (I hired it). It was automatic of course. Is riding a real manual bike difficult?? How long would it take me learn the basics of gears and clutch?

3. Is motobike riding really that dangerous??? Everyone I ask says its dangerous and should be avoided and say that "You will die Matthew". I rode my 50cc at coast no troubles. What makes riding dangerous??? If you look out for cars (cagers???) what can go wrong?

4. On learners do you need someone with you at all times??? On the Government site for QLD it states "You may only be taught by someone who holds an open licence"

Does that mean only opens can give me advice??? OR does it mean an open rider must accompany me at all times??

5. Does a bike require lots of maintenence? I've read that every week you must check oil and chain and so on? What's the most important things to maintain and check??