Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Complete noob - changing from first to second gear

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by dcart3r, Jan 16, 2008.

1. G'day all,

First post, one hell of a forum you guys have here. Best I've ever come across.

Anyway, just got my L's last week and one small problem I had during the Pre-Learner's course was when changing gears from 1st to 2nd I'd often find myself in neutral. Tried forcefully changing, gently changing, holding clutch in for longer, etc, but every now and then, just wouldn't make it into 2nd. Any advice?

FYI - Bike was a (standard?) Honda CB250, if that helps. Haven't purchased my first bike yet, but plan to buy a Honda VTR250 ASAP.

Cheers
    Dan

2. People get used to their own bikes gear boxes so its not surprising a new rider like yourself had a couple of issues.
    I'm sure if you owned this bike you would soon work out a method of changing gears.
    Your next bike will have its own engine/gearbox/clutch quirks too.

I was in slow traffic and short shifted into second this morning but found myself in angel gear instead :shock:

3. In the Ls course we were told to;
    -clutch in
    -foot up
    -ease clutch out
    -only then do you move foot back down

If its going into neutral I'd assume you're not pushing it up far enough - doesn't require much force, but does need to be at the top.

4. I agree with phizog & 2 wheels .. :nail:
    I wouldnt stress. Once you get your own bike you will soon 'get to bond with it and iron out these little annoyances'
    I had MAJOR problems finding neutral when I first got my hornet, now its found almost 99% of the time with little effort.
    Oh .. and Welcome Aboard !!! :biker: