Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Complete Motorcycle noob here

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by ShadowGT, May 4, 2011.

1. Hey as the title states I'm a noob when it comes to bikes. I've never ridden a motorcycle in my life (and cant drive a manual car either >_>) but i've been wanting to learn for a long time. It would mean so much to me if you guys could walk me through stuff i should learn, tips, how to shift gears, what to do about going for my L's basicly anything i would need to know etc, etc. I cant go for my L's just yet as im currently out of work but i've promised myself the second i got some work i'd go for my L's & buy a bike.

I've already started saving for my first bike (have 1k so far). I've already decided on what bike i want.

After looking around & searching the net i've decided on a Honda CBR250RR (the baby blade) as they are cheap to buy, apparently cheap to service & are a great learners sports bike. plus the fact that i'd just die if i could find one that was yellow :p Can anyone give me tips on buying a CBR250RR? what to look for etc? i have no bike riding friends so i cant really ask them (honestly i don't have many friends period but would love to make some bike friends down the road once i get settled)

Think that covers the basics. anything else you want or need to know feel free to ask.
  2. Welcome SGT. I have no experience with the 250RR but plenty of people here have, and do, so you'll get some accurate info (y)
  3. Thanks good to hear im in good hands lol.
  4. Making bike friends is easy....
    Don't be a knob. Listen to more experienced riders when they give you advice/correct you and do as much research as you can along with asking questions and you'll be right. :)