Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Commuter Motorcycle for a Beginner

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by turntaker, Oct 26, 2015.

1. Hi,
    I am new to riding and I still don't have my learner's.
    Hoping to get them in december.

I need some recommendations on motorbikes for a beginner like myself. I am not a very tall guy (170cm and average weight).

Some bikes i had in mind: Suzuki TU250x, Yamaha SR400, suzuki gs500, honda cb250.
    Here are some things that might be useful:
    • I will mainly use this bike for commuting in city type areas. (Riding to uni for about 15 minutes each way)
    • Something not too slow and not too fast.
    • Something light and easy to control as a beginner.
    • No cruiser or super sport (just a standard bike) - i am very much into classics like tu250x
    • Cheap insurance and cheap to buy and reliable.
    • Easy maintenance (so I can do things myself as I wont have much money as a student)
    Thank you, I will appreciate your recommendations :)

2. All you have listed are good bikes for your situation. All fairly simple mechanically and easy to maintain. The CB250 would probably be the cheapest option, they were a reliable simple machine. Cheaper means cheaper insurance, transfer fees etc. The down side is what kind of life has it had with its previous owners.

What is your budget including riding gear, helmet, jackets boots etc?
  3. I have a ktm duke200 and love it...weighs in at 130kg, fuel injected/liquid cooled. Looks good, easy clutch to learn on. Gear indicator which i found useful whilst learning.
  4. My budget would be about $5000 max for gear + bike
    • Like Like x 1