Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Combined income of 150k PA = rich or battler?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by blackadder, May 11, 2011.

1. I was reading this article on The age and I was naively amazed by some of the reader comments.

I'm a research student living off approximately $25k per year (no scholarship- I saved up hard to buy the trumpy). I was quite happily thinking that, for myself, $50k a year would be plenty to live happily on. After reading comments on theage I feel I must be living like a bum. :cool:

How much is enough for you? How much is enough to raise a family?
  2. This will not end well.
  3. I am a CEO earning 10k/day and let me tell you, it isn't easy to get by.
  4. When I left uni, I thought $48k was huge money.
    2 jobs later I thought $70k was huge money.
    etc etc.

A few years later I'm well north of that and I wonder how I lived on $70k. It's all about perspective and expectation :).

5. my wage just droped from 85k to 40k if lucky .the more you earn the more you tend to spend i like money
  6. +1

You live to your means, It's hard to look back and wonder how we got by, and we look around us when we are starting out and wonder how the **** those other people seem to piss all that money away...then you get there and know.
  7. So so true. I was on big money. 100K+. And never been so in debt in my life. Like sleepless nights thinking how the hell am i going to cover this months mortgage and CC bill. Where the F did it go. I was always stressed and not really happy. I wasn't a nice person.
    Now I am on just under 70k and life is so easy. I still have to worry about the mortgage and stuff. But it's all reasonable figures. And I have cash in the bank. Because I know i cant afford the latest and greatest.