Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Coding in Perl - Anyone here know much about it?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by Bosco, Jun 26, 2008.

1. Anyone here know how to code in perl? I'm stuck with a problem and pulling my hair out trying to resolve it... - I'm new to perl btw.

2. I haven't coded from scratch, but I've done a lot of editing and modifying other people's Perl (usually CGI scripts) to make them do what I want them to do. Perhaps if we combine our ignorance?
  3. What I'm after is the following:

Using the Win32:StopService module I want to be able to stop windows services which i've listed in an array. I'm able to stop them via their actual service name but not by the number associated with it in the array.

100 UPnP Device Host
    101 User Profile Service
    108 Windows Audio
    109 Windows Audio Endpoint Builder
    113 Windows Connect Now - Config Reg
    114 Windows Defender
    115 Windows Driver Foundation - User
    116 Windows Error Reporting Service
    118 Windows Event Log

Here is the code that i'm using for that bit which is a sub routine:

sub started
    foreach $key(@sorted)
    Win32::Service::GetStatus("", $service{$key}, \%status);
    if ($status{CurrentState} == 4)
    print "\t$counter\t$key\n" ;

print "Please enter the number of the service to terminate:\n";

chomp($user_selection = <STDIN>);
    Win32::Service::GetServices ("", \%services);
    foreach (sort(keys(%services)))
    $service_name = $_;
    print "$_";
    system ("pause");
    my %service;
    Win32::Service::GetStatus ("", $service{$key}, \%status);
    $running = $status{"CurrentState"};
    if (("$service_name" eq "$user_selection") and
    ("$running" eq "4"))
    print "$service_name $codes{$running} and will be stopped\n";