Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by blaringmike, Oct 5, 2007.

1. Hi all,

Recently I did an oil change and used fully synthetic oil. Everything went great for the first week or so, then taking off from the lights changing up into second I went to give it a bit and my bike just revved.

Being a noob I quite often accidentaly select neutrul so i thought that it what i'd done, after i look at the light i saw it wasnt on than a couple of seconds later the bike slids into gear and off i go.

I thought that this was just a once off seeing it only happpened once in a week of riding then today the same thing happened, only after having no power and being in second(no neutrul light on) the bike then slid itself back into neutrul.

Is this a clutch problem or is it the synthetic oil that people on here always go on about?

2. You didnt adjust your clutch cable at all?

You can always try changing back to a semi-synthetic, see if that helps, or maybe a thinner/thicker oil?
  3. I used 20w-50 in it. Most people i talk to have said they use 10W-40. Is there much difference between the two??
  4. Is it motorcycle oil or car oil you used?
  5. Motul Motorcycle oil.
  6. If the culutch has no adjustment left you will need a new one. (not uncommon for 250's to wear out clutches due to n00bs riding)
    Lighter weight oil (10 - 40) will make it worse. Start saving.
  7. If you rev it and dump the clutch will the clutch slip for awhile even though you have let the clutch completely out?
  8. Is it the clutch slipping, or is the gearbox actually not going "click" into gear at the right time??

9. Some of those who replied haven't read your post correctly.