Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Clutch Lever Modification - XVS650 Classic

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by Tone2, Sep 14, 2011.

1. One of the first things I noticed when I started riding my XVS650 Classic was that the friction point was out a long way from the grip (the lever almost fully out) and the friction zone itself was pretty small. Adjusting the cable to bring the friction point in left you with a floppy level, so a bit annoying really. Apparently this is common across all V-Stars. Most people probably learn to live with it and life moves on.

Initially, I read about and ordered a clutch cable kit from Seritec in the USA for US$17 delivered - essentially just a spring and a metal tube installed at the clutch end of the cable - which allowed me to move the friction point back towards the bar and addressed the floppy cable problem. The spring keeps a bit of pressure on when the lever is just sitting there and the tube stops the spring from bowing sideways when the lever is pulled. You could make it yourself if you looked around for the right sized stuff.

I still wasn't completely happy with the size of the friction zone and learnt about a modified clutch lever called The Clevver (clever lever, ho hum). Essentially, they change the point at which the cable attaches to the lever, which reduces the amount of pull you need as well as increasing the size of the friction zone. USD$48 shipped.