Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Clutch Cable goes SNAP

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by 2Fast, Sep 25, 2008.

1. Riding home from work this arvo, heading down spit hill towards Manly for those that know. In 3rd going along with traffic at 40-50kms ish. I went to upshift or downshift (cant remember which), when suddenly the clutch lever becomes loose.

Decided while i'm still learning it's probably not such a good idea to try get home without a clutch, managed to get myself to the carpark a bit further up. Then waited 2 hours for a tow truck.

Bad afternoon :(

2. That sucks, hope the tow truck didn't charge you too much
  3. Free with NRMA, but first they sent out a mechanic, who took an hour to get there, takes a look for 2 seconds and calls a tow truck, which then takes another 45 minutes. Note to everyone buying a second hand bike, might be a good idea to get cables replaced when you buy it.

Oh well, another learning experience.
  4. Yea i know how this feels...

Its a bad feeling when you've just realised your clutch cable is broken.

Luckily when mine broke i was in familar grounds and managed a way home with only two set of lights stopping me. One of which i managed to get a push from a nice bloke (passenger from a car next to me at the lights) and one more further down which i just duckwaddled and clutch (well actually popped it into 2nd) and was off home.

Good experience though. Everyone should experience it lol. Go cut you clutch cable today. :p

Sucks that you had to get a tow truck and all. Ohwell...may this be a reminder for us all to lube our cables today!
  5. Agree about carryig a spare, but you should also try and learn to change gear without the clutch anyways....
  6. thats even more scary...