Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Close call this morning - new riders take note

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by dcart3r, Apr 30, 2008.

1. I've been commuting for around two months now and only just had my first close call this morning. In short, I was riding along a three-lane main road in the outside lane, at approximately the same speed as the other two lanes, which was only about 40km/hr. The speed limit is 70km/hr and I had a bit of free space in front of me, so decided to give it a quick squirt. About a second later, a cager in the middle lane decides to duck into my lane just as I entered his blind spot, where I'm now travelling at around 70km/hr. Luckily I didn't forget all my roadcraft and was in the left-hand wheel track, so had time to see him changing lanes and quickly jump hard on the brakes (without locking up). The car missed me by about a foot - not terribly close, but enough to scare me just a little.

Now, despite the fact the cager was in the wrong, I should have known better and lucky for me I kind of anticipated it, so was quickly on the brakes and managed to avoid an accident. Despite the fact it was a fairly boring near-miss, I hope someone else besides myself can learn from my mistake and stay rubber side down.

Safe riding.

2. Glad you are ok. And he may have been in the wrong technically and legally but he may have looked a short period before and saw you doing the same speed and decided it was safe to change lanes. He may not have noticed your sudden acceleration. I am not trying to make excuses for anyones behaviour but one must remember that there is always more to everything than first shows.

3. Same happened to me last week in Chatswood except at a much lower speed.