Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Clicking when contact on

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by RAMZ, Feb 21, 2008.

1. Hi guys,

just recently bought a bike so I'm a bit of a newbie with troubleshooting...

Anyway, in my excitement I gave the bike a good wash and now am noticing a clicking sound. The sounds happens when I switch the key to on, even before starting the engine. And the sounds stays even when the engine is started. The tick tick tick happens approx. twice per second and is coming from underneath the fuel tank.

Of course my thoughts are that water has gotten into the electrical system and that this is the cause. However, I'm not sure where to look or what to do. Can somebody therefore guide me in the right direction?
    - Can the spark plugs be arcing even when the engine is off, but the ignition on?
    - which systems are running when the ignition is on but the engine off (and remain running when the engine is on)?
    - Or can this ticking noise be normal? I didn't notice it before.

Thanks for your advice

2. A bike, hey??

On the fuel tank should be written the brand of bike.

Somewhere, maybe on a sidecover, might be written the model. ;-)

This is almost as important as the colour if we are going to do any trouble shooting. ;-)

Have you thought of putting your ear down there and locating just where the sound is coming from? If it's from under the tank maybe your bike has an electric fuel oump...

Cheers

Trevor G

3. Ok, at least thanks for the reply.

I'll just ignore the childish sarcasm for now, since I do want to learn more about bikes and this is a good platform for that.