Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Classic newbie mistake

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by midlife, May 21, 2016.

1. I'm pretty new to this riding life, but am embracing it as much as I can. Its so much fun to be out there on a lovely day and also fun to go out on the not so lovely days. However today wasn't much fun.
    Im still getting used to riding without a fuel gauge and I get paranoid whenever 200km clicks over and I fill up again. Not once have I needed to use the reserve switch. I always wondered though how far I could actually go before I finally ran out and today was the day to find out.
    I kitted up, checked the fuel (under a quarter tank left) and went out to a nearby town to smash down a coffee, pie and donut. The town is about 50km away so I thought "no worries here" let's do this.
    I was on my way back and about 5 km past a petrol station when the beast began to splutter. It was about 20km to home (but no petrol stations on the way), so I pulled over, flicked on the reserve switch for the first time and thought I was safe to travel the 20km home. Boy was I wrong. I got about 3 km down the road when it began to splutter again. Crap. A quick U-turn was done and I made a bee line back to the petrol station. Splutter, splutter and finally silence. Damn, still 6km away, now what .
    After a few false starts, I managed to roll and splutter about a km closer. Now do I call my non biker mates for a lift and cop abuse for running out of fuel. No, I thought I may as well push the beast 5 km back and fill up.