Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

classic cbr250rr vs new cbr250r

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by gaza01, Aug 6, 2011.

1. Howdy all,

My name is chris, and im new to riding. I've been lucky enough to recieve a hand me down CB250 off my stepdad for nothing, to ride while on my L's and P's. Now the plan was always to use this and save for a super sports of some kind for when i get off my full licence hopefully end of next year (turning 25)...

..well that was the idea anyway. As always, things don't usually go to plan, and I'm contemplating the thought of something a bit edgier. Which brings me on to the topic question.

I love the CBR250RR, classic look, sounds amazing for a 250. But **** me, some of the prices some people want for them. I mean its a 20 year old bike, and some are going for as high as 6-7k. I know its a case of its high sell-ability, but regardless, There is the all new CBR250R, $5500 - BRAND NEW. Looks great, but i have no other idea about it, other than its assembled in Thailand.

Am i missing something here? Anybody care to share their thoughts/experiences with either bike?

2. I've not ridden either, Chris, but this is a constant topic of conversation, here, and in places where I ride. I guess the bottom line is that the old bike is 'take it as it comes', and what excitement it offers, while the new bike has a modern (although nowhere near as amazing) engine, and 21st century running gear, plus, of course, warranty and back-up. You pays your money, you makes your choice.

If it was me and I could buy a brand new bike with no history instead of a 20 year old bike with goodness-knows-what history, I'd buy brand new......