Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

QLD Claim Trackday costs as Advertising?

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by V2, Aug 5, 2013.

1. I'm hoping someone with Tax experience can advise. I'm sure the answer is no, but...

I'm an engineer working as a sole trader. There is bugger all I can claim off the tax man. I'm wondering, If I get stickers with my company name made up and put them on my bike, then ride on Trackdays, can I then claim the cost of the trackday as an advertising expense?

I see a lot of the fast guys on the track have advertising on there bikes - so assume there being sponsored (and someone is claiming something on tax). I guess I'm effectively sponsoring myself?

My guess is you might be able to do this if your actually "racing" but probably not just for a track day?

Thanks in advance.
  2. Nup. You can claim the stickers. You're self employed mate. There's pretty much nothing you can claim :)
  3. With stickers on the bike and all the engineering type improvements that you're using the bike as a test bed for, could you nominate it as a work vehicle and then at the least claim depreciation?
  4. There's gotta be a way, I see heaps of racers sponsored by "xxx earthmoving" or "xxx crane hire" or something. You'd almost certainly need a Pty Ltd (a few grand more in accounting and ASIC fees) but there has to be a way to do it legitimately..

When u find out let me know!!
  5. If you can claim the track day then you could also claim every ride you ever do with a sticker on it.
  6. stickers alone is not sponsorship nor is a track day advertise fees here is your problem.
    Companies that sponsor racers look for an ROI when their doing it,
  7. The answer is yes.