Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Choosing my first bike.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by abh, Sep 22, 2010.

1. I am looking for a first bike, it's quite confusing sorting through the plethora of options, so I thought I'd throw my thoughts out there and see what people think.

My Background: I am 178cm (+- 5’8”) and 85kg. I have limited experience tearing around a farm on a small dirt bike. I want to buy a bike for commuting/a bit of fun. I also want to keep the bike beyond my L’s, and so am willing to invest a bit more $ into it if need be. I’d like to buy second hand, nearly new (< 3years old, <7000km). The bike must conform to LAMS.

Because I’m not going to buy for another 6 months or so, I have plenty of time to research and have a number of bikes on my shortlist. The next step of course will be to go into the dealers and have a look, and sit on the bikes and so on.

Disclaimer: My opinion is based solely on my own research, i.e. reading reviews and forums, I have not sat on or ridden any of these bikes. If you think you know better than me, you probably do. Also, as far as looks go, they're relative, and are of course based purely on my own opinion and taste.

I’ll start with bikes that I have ruled out.

Bikes that didn't make the grade

Hyosung GT250R. A great looking bike, I like the fact that it has EFI, but I’ve read too many posts about dodgy quality. This bike has been struck from my list.

Honda CBR250RR. Nice looking bike, but I don’t need or want a pocket rocket.