Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Choke used as cruise control..reduced power.

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by ol9fingers, Oct 22, 2011.

1. Hi All,

My RF900 has lost considerable power. Unfortunately the choke was being used as a cruise control. I pulled the spark plugs out, highly carbonised, put new ones in and it went great for a couple of hundred k's. I changed the oil (which reeked of petrol and the oil filter).The power reduction has now returned. My question is..what else should i be doing besides just changing the spark plugs?

Hoping to get some help,

2. strip down and rebuild,
    im no mechanic, but the choke would majorly effect the fuel air mixture, meaning it could be running rich or lean for a considerable time especially with it being used as a cruise control (dumbest thing ive hard of in a while) so everything is probably covered in carbon. the valves are most likely not seated properly and the injectors fouled....

so id strip it down, clean it, flush all fluids, re-set all the clearances and check tolerances. which considering the age of the engine, doesn't seem like a bad thing to do anyway with-ought this problem.

BUT I AM NOT MECHANICALLY MINDED, just my thoughts.....
  3. Well how far can you go? It all depends on your knowledge and skill and what you are willing to do.
    The sparkplugs arent the only part that will carbonise. Do a simple compression Check to ensure your exhaust valve is not leaking from a buildup of carbon not allowing it to reseat.
    When you changed the sparkplug, you may have disturbed carbon, causing it to fall into the cyl and subsiquently damaged a ring or the wall.
  4. can be caused by combination of not turning fuel off and sticking floats in carb