Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

chitty chitty bang bang

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by heavyw8, May 15, 2005.

1. hi all.

my brothers Honda NSR is back firing just before power ban hits at 8.

i know he ran standard unleaded with a 2 stroke fuel from shell. 'shell svx 2 stroke oil', despite my suggestion not to.

it seems to have occured following the input of these substances but would like to know others opinions on what may cause a 2stroke to backfire pretty agressively in the same spots - between 6 - 8000rpm .

cheers again

2. Has he tried Premium 98 octane fuel (not optimax)?

I don't know alot about 2 stroke engines other than a higher octane fuel reduces/prevents misfires.
  3. hmmm... I'm not an expert on 2 strokes but sometimes you can get a build up of carbon in the exhaousts... when it get real hot and not all fuel is burned (usualy at high RPM) the carbon can ignite the unspent fuel...

Why was your brother runing it on shell fuel?? and using their oil?? Almost every one I know who rides bikes complains about backfiring when using shell unleded and Optimax.... And their 2 stroke oil... I would not put that in my loan mower!! it smokes to much!!
  4. lol i agree about shell products... not to mention they are not the most reputable company when it comes to human rights... :evil:

cheers :)
  5. Their 2 stroke oil is awesome. Their normal unleaded and the middle (eg. 95-96 octane) is fine for bikes, its only optimax thats is evil. Its full of detergents that are great for a slow reving 4 stroke motor but disolve the precious lubrication on the bores of a high reving motor cycle engine, especially on a two stroke where lube is so vital.