Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Chinese Gear?

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by Xavier, Jun 8, 2010.

1. Hi Guys,

I am new to motorcycling, recently got my learner license and a Suzuki GS500.

I am now getting protective gear and being on a cheap budget I was wondering how good the Chinese brands are.

There are many jackets under $100 on eBay, all coming from China (don't know if I'm allowed to post links). Duhan seems to be one of the "brands".

I am certain they're not nearly as good as the famous brands, but I'm still wondering if they are decent? I am mostly concerned about security, not as much about longevity.

Has anyone tried them? Are there any tests/reviews I can read on the internet?

Any input appreciated!

2. Well, it might be all right. After all, I've heard enough horror stories about the "good" stuff to realise there are no guarantees.

But then, is it really that much of a saving? If you trawl sites like BikeBiz, or some of the US suppliers, you'll find run-out DriRiders, RJays and stuff for not much more. Same with gloves, trousers and boots. Sure, you'll not have a lot of choice as to style or colour, but what's wrong with putting yellow with purple?

You can get some good bargains in helmets too (not from the US though, unless you want to become an instant outlaw), if you're prepared to go with last year's paint job.

I reckon you could get fully geared up from scratch for about $700 or less, given a bit of luck/good timing.

Lid $150 (run-out HJC)
    Jacket $200 (basic DriRider on sale)
    Gloves $50 (unfashionable weird colour run-out)
    Kevlar strides $150 (Red Wolf from KitBag in WA)
    Boots $150 (cheapo TCX or, failing that, lace-up Steel Bliues like wot I wear)