Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Cheap ( sub $800 ) trail/farm bike for 100% newbie..

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Polowski, Jun 24, 2008.

1. Hello all - Since obtaining my license and bike, my other half is beside herself trying to convince me that she wants to get her license too :LOL:

The main problem is that she has never ridden a motorcycle before, and she drives an automatic car (boooo!). I thought it would be a good idea to buy her a farm/trail bike for a couple of hundred that we can drop, thrash, and bash in the safety of a paddock somewhere whilst she learns to ride.

I'm only a noob myself to be honest, so I am not sure what type of bike would be best for this, or if i should just go to the trading post and buy the cheapest nastiest thing as long as it runs..

What would you guys/girls suggest?

Obviously want a manual bike, but as far as the rest goes - it doesnt matter so much. My gf is about 5'7 or 5'8.

Anyone in Sydney have a paddock basher lying around in the garage they want to unload? :D :D

2. A CT110 or Postie would be the only thing with some sort of reliability

Anything else for $800 is a complete lottery

Good luck

3. My brother has a postie bike up in newcastle, however it is a clutchless manual..so I didnt think that it would be the best idea to learn on as I want her to be able to learn to use the clutch

4. +1 Toecutter

5. My brother and I did exactly the same thing before going for our L's...we ended going halves on a 1980 Yamaha XT250...$500 on ebay.
    She leaks a bit of oil but theres plenty of life in the old girl yet.....heaps of fun and got our abilities up enough to do a half-day L's course instead of the full 2 day course :grin: