Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Cheap helmet bluetooth devices

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by tonee, Sep 2, 2012.

1. Hi

Just would like to know if anyone has any experience on cheap helmet bluetooth handsfree devices from ebay? I'm still a student so please don't flame me to buy the real deal because I can't afford them.

I'm looking at something like this:

Which looks very similar to Scala Rider Q2....maybe from the same factory?

2. I had one of those, but I only used it for music or telephone calls. Works OK for what it is. It was a bit of a pain b/c I couldn't get my iPhone to start the music automatically using this, whereas my SMH10 that I have now does it.

For a starter, it should be OK, but you might find after awhile that you want an upgrade. I can't say what it was like as an intercom tho.
  3. what do you want to do with it? Just listen to music? Take / make calls? intercom?
  4. That's fair, I can see myself eventually upgrading until I have more excess funds.

Just for music and calls. Intercom is just an extra which I will probably only use IF I know someone else with it.
  5. The other thing I found was that I could answer calls, but not make them.

Also, unlike my SMH10 the battery doesn't last the distance for an all day ride. Plus I don't think the charger is USB (I have a USB charge point on the bike).

But those things may not concern you. I bought mine when I needed a cheap alternative, and it did what I expected of a cheap unit.
  6. I guess 100hrs standby time (7hrs talking time) is over estimated. I just had a look at the photos and that is quite an odd charging adaptor it uses.