Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Cheap/good tyres for the western suburbs

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by simmbr, Jun 4, 2009.

1. Hi Guys

I have $300 left from my stimulus package (thank you Rudd) after buying a Helmet and other stuff, and wanted to spend the rest of the money on a rear bike tyre for my Honda VT250 Spada. I got a quote from my local bike service place for $169 + $20 for fitment for either a Bridgestone or Michelin tyre (don't know the details of the tyre). Does this seem reasonable, and can anyone recommend a place in the western suburbs that is cheaper?

I would like it to be a good mix of price and performance, so not a sh@t tyre, and being a uni student I would like to have some change back from $300. This being my first bike, any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
  2. From what i've seen 169+20 for fitment is on the higher side. Here in the ACT most places fit for free so i reccommend finding somewhere that will do the same. You really need to provide the name of the tyre for us to know if it's reasonable. If you do a search for tyres you'll find some topics that mention 250 tyres and their benefits. The general consensus i got is Arrowmax= The Devil from most people anyway
  3. out west, you can go to Westside Motorcycles in Sunshine for cheap tyres - ask for Zoran.
  4. Bridgestone BT-45s have a hard compound down the middle for when you are commuting or at the traffic light grand prix, and a softer compound on the sides for when you are tearing through the twisties on the weekend. I do both and am happy with BT-45s.