Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Cheap first bike?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Andrew81, Nov 20, 2005.

1. Hi everyone, this is my first post here. I hope it's in the right forum.

I'm a newbie and looking at getting my first bike. I've been having a look around and reading up on as many bikes as i can.
    From what i've seen here and other places the gpx250 looks like a good option.
    I've seen a 91 model gpx250 in good condition for $1900ono, had about 70,000km on it. Would this be just about clapped out? How many km does a 250 usually last if well looked after?
    I've also been considering maybe a road trail like a mid 90's xr250. What are these like on the road?
    I'm open to any other sugestions. Hoping to keep it around the $2000 mark. Though i want something reliable so if i need to spend a bit more to get something that won't have too many problems i will.

Any sugestions or advice appreciated

2. Yep, I had a GPX up till recently, they are a pretty good bike to learn on. I found it a little uncomfortable, but that's probably just me.
    I probably wouldn't go for one with that many KM on it, and it does sound a little overpriced. There's probably better people on here to tell you about what's a good learner bike.
  3. A well looked after GPX will run forever, but most aren't well looked after. :p

Aim for one with a few less k's if you can - you might need to pay a little more, but it's better than forking out big bikkies to fix it in a month or two.

Other than that, the Spada is also a cheap option, but I didn't really like how it felt. See which you like!
  4. Thanks for the replies. The more i look at bikes the more confused i get. There are so many different options.