Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Charging woes

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Rake, May 6, 2010.

1. Hey guys. New here, heard good things about this forum :)

I see a couple charging threads already but I'd like a more specific 2nd opinion.

A couple months ago I got a '92 Kawasaki ZZR250. I'm new to bikes, but I've done plenty to cars, so I wasn't shy of taking to her with some spanners. She's done quite a few K's (nearing 60,000) and shes a little rough but I did a big service on her - oil, valves, plugs, carb sync, etc. She seems pretty well maintained and runs good. I was given the workshop manuals too so I've referenced to those where I can.

When I got her she was reluctant to start. Feeling the battery was shot I replaced it. Things were good, or atleast better for a while, but now she's running into issues again. Battery will gradually drain, and then she's not able to start. Runs fine when it kicks over though, had to get used to clutch starting her real quick.

I suspect the Regulator/Rectifier is busted. To recap what I've done:

- Replace the battery

- Disconnect the R/R and ran the bike purely off the battery, testing the A/C voltage from the 3 wires from the alternator. Around <30VAC at idle, upwards of 60VAC around 4,000RPM+. Consistent across all 3 wires, so while the voltages are a bit higher than the workshop manual says to expect I think the stator is OK.

- Tested DC voltage, just across battery terminals, with bike both off and running. Off is just below 12v (around 11.8), On is around the same, 11.8v-ish. Was expecting it to rise to atleast 13's.