Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Changing to braided lines

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by mr_messy, Jan 21, 2010.

1. I've been reading the numerous threads here about bleeding brakes etc in preparation to replacing my brake lines with the braided set that I have just bought.

I plan on doing it myself, however I thought I'd ask,
    What are some of the things I should be aware of?
    What are the common mistakes that are made?

I'm not a qualified mechanic or anything but I like to tinker about with things so thought I'd give it a go.

If it helps I ride a K7 gsxr750

2. search for how to bleed brakes on the interweb. just make sure you bleed and then some more. be patient
    and dont get that stuff on your paint..

3. Before you tighten anything, make sure the lines are routed properly and sitting comfortably without being kinked or strained. Then bolt up using new crush washers at all the banjo connections. Whenever I've bought braided lines, these have come with them as standard.

4. When you buy Hel brand you get detailed instructions with them...

1] you don't need or want to bleed the brake system BEFORE changing the lines.
    2] as others have said make sure that the new lines are routed correctly before nipping up the bolts / crush washers.
    3] be very careful not to spill brake fluid either on painted surfaces or the brake pads /discs.
    4] cleanliness is good, very good. Have a can of brakeclean handy for prep work and accidents.

If I can make the scanner work I'll post the hel instruction sheet for you.

5. Just imo I would change fluid while your at it. I doubt you will feel the braided lines stop you any faster on the road but the feel of the brakes is improved greatly.