Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

changing plugs and leads

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by ibanez, Jul 3, 2008.

1. I need to change my plugs and leads on my 92 GSXR750. Changing plugs ive done before thats not hard, but ive never replaced leads before. Im no mechanic, is it just a matter of looking at the old leads and putting the new ones in the way the old ones come out. Any tips? I have not bought the new leads or plugs, any suggestions on what brands to use or where to purchase these from.

2. yep, just put the new ones on just as the old ones were. replace them one at a time, to ensure you dont get the firing order mixed up and you'll be set.
    as for brands, get the best that you can afford.
  3. +1 to _joel_...

Do the spark park leads one by one like Joel said! If you mix up the order your engine may not start or will start but sound and run like sh|t
  4. and if they are black? :LOL:
    nah, thats the official way, usually done with a bit of masking tape and a number or something. but that's when you are doing more invasive maintenance at the same time. i find the one-out-one-in method to be easiest on my simple brain. plus i couldnt be stuffed writing numbers.
  5. Some plug leads are sealed/moulded to the coils so it may not be a straight forward swap.

Have a look before spending any money.
  6. thanks for the advice, i forgot i have to get the firing order right.

thanks for the link, but i dosnt have my correct model. It has a 93 750 or a 92 1100, could i use one of these or neither. i have searched the web previously to find the manual to no avail.