Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

changing gears with out clutch??

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by malenko, Jun 17, 2008.

1. I was going for a ride earlier today and I noticed that I could switch up into a higher gear with out using the clutch, I still needed the clutch to shift down though. Is this a signal that the clutch is on the way out? or is this nothing out of the ordinary? I am only asking cos I am still new to bikes and when I could do this in my car it meant I needed a new clutch.

I ride a 2007 GPX and I was wandering if I should take it in and get it fixed under warranty or should I not worry about it and change gears as normal and just tell them about it when the next service is due... which is another 5000km
  2. It's normal - The vast majority of motorcycles have a gearbox with large dogs to engage the gears, which can be clutchlessly shifted much more easily than a synchromesh gearbox.

Nothing mechanically wrong with the bike.
  3. +1 Spots.
    Mal', do a search on this, there's a very good post on it that only finished about a month ago.
  4. sweet, thanks heaps guys.
  5. Informative, and entertaining.

I suggest you skip pages 2 though 576 though.
  6. And the above post as well, for irrelevance :roll:.
  7. Yep, skip the thread with Bonox in it... well, I think it was bonox... I was so scarred I've blotted it out of my mind :LOL:

...but the rest are ok. :grin:

Malenko, welcome to sequential shifting. In time you'll be shifting down as well... it gets a bit clunkier though in that direction. Good choice of bike mate... treat the GPX right and it'll treat you right... I kinda miss mine, even after all these years.
  8. +12312367465453234651442347654314213526352413 what everyone ontop said