Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Chain oil

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by canuck, Jan 18, 2009.

1. How much is too much?
    I am a noob and put chain oil on for the first time. When I took her out for a ride I could smell something when I stopped, I looked down and could see chain oil all over my back rim and tire as well and the exhaust and swing arm. OBVIOUSLY I put too much oil on but how much are you supposed to put on and how often? Also how tight should your chain be and how do you check it.

2. What chain lube are you using?
    The quality lubes tend not to fling as badly as the cheap crappy ones (like Castrol). Personally I like Silkolene gel for the simple reason it sprays on white so you can see exactly how much is on there - and where it is.
    As for the chain tension this can differ between bikes but roughly there should only be about a 1-2cm deflection in the chain at its saggiest point when you push up on it. Be sure though to rotate the rear wheel and recheck along several parts of the chain to make sure one section isn't tighter/looser than the rest (if it is then the chain is rooted).
  3. You may find the liquid oils shoot everywhere worse that a honey mooner on his night.

You want to use a spray on chain oil which behaves similar to normal spray paint. It sprays on then 'dries' out to form a thick (but thin film) jelly. Very resistant to water and fling-off. Visit your local shop ...and you don't need the very be$t unle$$ you do trackday$.