Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Chain loose - 350km new bike?

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' at netrider.net.au started by CaffeineMonster, Nov 12, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Hi,
    I just checked my chain and it can touch the swing arm at its centre point. Bike is a week old and only done 350km so far. Am a complete noob to bikes and not very mechanical, pretty much tool-less so need help / advice!

I am assuming though that this is incorrect. The owners manual states it should be 46-48 mm from swing arm. Owners manual doesn't say how to adjust chain tension and says get chain adjusted by Ducati dealer (and yes I am drinking a coffee while I write this).

Could this be an issue to deal with under warranty? Should I take to dealer to rectify or other?

2. I'm not familiar with your model, so will let others chime in. But IMO, if you are going to ride a chain drive motorbike - even a Ducati, you need to know how to adjust and maintain the chain.

• Agree Agree x 6
  3. I know that and am planning to learn to do so, hence I checked it - need get some appropriate tools for doing so and cleaning. Never done it before so seeking help with issue.

I thought though at only 350km on new bike would have little more time to get what I needed. Also, seems is very short distance for it to have become that loose.

4. The chain will tension up (tighten) when you sit on the bike, so 'weightless' isn't really a true indication. Sit on it and have a friend check the play - see how much difference there is from current.