Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Chain jumping.. does that mean it's too loose?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Kojihama, Jan 7, 2010.

1. hey all,

So I did my first chain clean today (noob here) and then I turned the engine on and put it in gear just to see check for any other defects and noticed that the chain sort of "hops" or bounces up and down on some sort of guide block just behind the left hand side heel rest.. before it goes into the engine.

Does this mean the chain is too loose or could it be a precursor to something worse? Or is it normal.

It's a 2003 Suzuki GS500.

Thanks in advace.

2. Could be either:
    Stiff joints in the chain - Replace chain and sprockets
    Chain *way* too loose - Tighten chain.
    More than likely tho; Worn out from Sprocket - Replace Chain and Sprokets.
  3. yes it does
  4. I probably should have asked this in the original post... is it something that needs to be addressed urgently or can it wait for the next service? Which isn't for another three months. I don't have the tools or the know how to adjust the chain.

5. Well, my friend, get thee to a service centre of some sort and get it fixed tomorrow before you do even more damage than that which may have been done already.....
  6. Will do. Thanks for the help.
  7. You definitely need to learn to adjust the chain, and know when you have to. Get a mechanic or experienced friend to show you.

Sounds like the chain is at least loose - if it's skipping teeth it's WAAAAAYYYYYY too loose, if the bottom run is bouncing up and down it could be a tight spot or stuck link, and if all this has been going on for a while the chain and sprockets could be screwed.