Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

CFMoto Leader 150cc

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by 133Caesium, Jun 17, 2014.

1. Hey all

I'm looking for some advice on an offer I've been made. I'm very new to riding, the only time I've spent on a bike has been in the pre-learner course, but I've done a lot of cycling and driving so I was pretty comfortable.

For my first bike, I was looking at the Honda CB125e until I got comfortable using it just to get to the shops and the station, probably for about a year or two (after saving up), then if I'm still loving it getting something more powerful. I really like the naked bike look and am not too concerned about it being underpowered.

I came across this video which made me think about the Leader 150 cc. This thread refers to it as being relatively unknown, as well as underpowered. Three years later what do people think about the bike? Another thread mentioned someone using it as a courier bike and loving it.

A dealer has offered me helmet/jacket/gloves and a new bike for $3000, which seems pretty reasonable, I'm liking the idea of having new gear with warranty, 2 years on the bike, as well as being the first owner. I also really like the style and colour of the bike (black, naked), though some of that might just be the excitement with the idea of finally owning a bike!

P.S. saw A yamaha sr400 and thought it was beautiful, but I definitely want to get more experienced (and more money) before heading in that sort of direction.

PPS can't post links on the first day. Google Tastyhamsandwich cfmoto for the video, thread can be found easily via search.
  2. Mate for $3k get a 2009 ninja 250. Way better bike
  3. I don't often agree with Basejumper, but I agree with Basejumper.