Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

CBR250RR or ZXR250 ?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by 1kmodem, Nov 1, 2006.

1. Hi,

I'm going to get my first bike, getting my L's in 1month at Armstrongs.. I would like to know which bike to get for my first bike the CBR250RR or the ZXR250 baby ninja... the pro's and con's will be helpful.
    And where is the best place to look for bikes for sale.
    Thanks!
    Melbourne :LOL:

2. Hey.

I won't try to talk you out of either, although in my experience you'd be better off on a VTR250 - I'm a RiderSafe instructor (sorry, start yawning now) and I see lots of newbies come to grief on 250 sports tackle. That being said, respect 'em and you'll be fine.

I'd go for the Honda. Having had experience with both, I believe that the slightly better built quality, tolerances and metallurgy mean that the Honda will last better and give less grief. They rev to what - 18 grand or something? You want a quality engine to go up that high regularly. And no accusations of bias, cause I currently ride a Kawasaki!

I've had many, many Honda engines apart and even with lots of kays on 'em, give 'em good oil and maintenance and they last forever.

Whatever you choose, ease into it and do a couple of track days before you go nuts. Track days are great for learning your way around a quick bike.

OB

3. Oh, by the way 1kmodem, sorry if I jumped in there and tagged you as a newbie - even though you're just getting your L's you may well have been riding since you were 8 years old, so my apologies if I read you wrong.