Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

CBR250RR Aus Vs Import

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by 1kmodem, Nov 20, 2006.

1. Hi im a newbie,

Could you tell me the difference between an import and Aus Manucfactured besides compliance, I'd like to know the reliablity, specs and the price differences and anything else you'd know.

thanks!

2. Insurance can be obtained from a wider selection of insurance companies, only a limited number will cover grey imports (if they know; if they don't and find out afterwards they can and will reduce payouts).

Not all shops will work on grey imports, and parts are often different (seals and such rather than major mechanical components).

You are much more likely to have a service history for an Oz imported bike.

3. Thats what agreed value is for

I have never heard of an insurance company turning down the insurance on a grey import...

At the end of the day, what does it matter to them?

4. All CBRs sold here officially were the post '94 models which were restricted in power output to 40hp like every other Japanese 250. Even though there was no such restriction here I believe the bikes were left as is since the changes were in the ignition unit and cylinder head and it would have been expensive for Honda to make a seperate version just for Oz. Many grey imports however are the earlier model CBR which wasn't restricted - so power output is closer to 45hp (or at least it was when new).

5. Small input on headlights i've learnt recently:

My cbr250 is a grey import and runs on shitty 60/35W globes. The aus cbrs use the brighter and more common 60/55W globes.

Can't put a 60/55W in a grey import as it will melt "something". Gotta change the switchgear if you want a brighter globe.