Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

CBR125 - I'm sorry, but what a hunk of crap.

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by QuarterWit, May 26, 2008.

1. Well, i do enough bashing of this bike on the forums without justification, so here it all is. So many people love it - but I'm noticing a trend. Most of these guys haven't ridden anything else. I'm no seasoned pro by any means, but I've ridden a fair few kinds of bikes in my short riding history and i love the smaller capacity end of the market.

This weekend I managed to take my neighbours CBR125 for a ride. He's a big bastard, who despite my pleadings, went out and spent a months wages on this little thing. He seemed to be determined to get it.

I'd ridden one briefly before at work, but didn't think too much of it. Only a quick ride around the block and back again, too polite to tell the owner my first thoughts. He liked it, after all.

From a distance, the CBR125R looks pretty good. But so does Courtney love. Similarily, up close the CBR125's flaws become apparant. It's cheap, ratty and poorly built. Niggly little things become apparant when you start to have a good look at it. Cheap looking fuel petcock, badly assembled fairing and a engine casing that looks like it was cast at a plaster funhouse.

But hey, he wanted a good commuter, not a Ducati. So, i strapped on my helmet and took it for a quick ride around the inner city.

The engine does exactly what it should do. It's weak as all hell and pretty unresponsive and you have to work really hard to keep it moving. No suprise there. However, all that kicking through gears (Only to find the top, which you use for just about everything) means shuffling through gears. Which is where my main problem with the bike started.