Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

CBR 929's and 954's [Updated: and now zx10r's]

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by mercho, Jun 27, 2008.

1. Hey Guys,

Coming of my P's soon and looking at getting a bigger bike.

Whats the story with the CBR929's and 954's? Are these the models honda released before the 1000's? Is there any reason why they are going pretty cheap? Anything I should be wary of? I am still pretty new to bikes and just wanted to get some advice...

2. Re: CBR 929's and 954's

They are part of the 900 series that honda produced before they switched to the litre in 2003/2004 (sometime around then).

The story is that they look hawt. They are cheap, possibly because they are now at least 4 years old and are considered 'older' technology. What that means for you and me is we get to pick up a bargain.

I haven't ridden one, but I don't think there is any particular issues with the later models (929 and 954).

Good luck.
  3. Re: CBR 929's and 954's

Thanks for the quick reply :)

Any major differences between the 929 and 954?
  4. Re: CBR 929's and 954's

Apart from obvious capacity changes. Looks?

Not really sure, try this :
  5. Thanks for that mate! looks like like the 954 had a bit of an engine overhaul from the 929 and became a bit lighter, and obviously the looks changed!

Thanks again for the link!
  6. if u can find a cheap 929 or 054 grab it, they are usually pretty pricey actually

the older cbr900rr(919) can usually be found for a reasonable price though.
  7. Rode an 03ish 954 (yak's) the other week. VERY nice bike, and he got it for a steal.