Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

CB250 Chain.....is it loose...if so how do I fix it???

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' at netrider.net.au started by CB250_Newby, Apr 1, 2008.

1. Hey All

Currently my bike has been odd and when I take off or at high speed it seems to slip or crunch...it is ok at medium speed..but not low or high. Is this a chain problem?

It is my first bike and I will only be keeping it until the mid year so I don't really want to have any work done to it. Is there anyway I can fix this myself without special tools. I realise this may have been covered a million times so sorry for asking, but I am a total newby.

I looked at this:

https://netrider.net.au/articles/?page=chainadjustment

But I am still not sure as I am not the mechanic type.

Anyway thanks in advance.

2. How long have you had the bike? Have you been adjusting the chain?

The chain needs adjusting approximately every 500km's, and lubricating lightly but frequently.

To check the condition of the chain, look at the sprockets. The teeth on the sprockets should be smooth rounded hills. If they appear sharp and pointed, hooked or broken your chain and sprockets need replacing.

There should be no tight spots in the chain. To test this, put the bike on it's cetrestand with the chain properly adjusted. It should rotate freely. If you meet firm resistance at any point you need to replace chain and sprockets.

3. #3 kols_kebabs, Apr 1, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 13, 2015
    You edited your post while I was typing my reply...

You need to learn to adjust your chain. It's very simple, not a real mechanical job.

That netrider explanation is unnecessarily complicated. There is plenty of good instruction on the net on how to adjust your chain. Google.