Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

CB250 - beginner oil change &filter clean

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by SJade, Jul 12, 2010.

1. Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to riding, and have had my learners and a 2001 CB250 for 3 weeks now. It's a great little bike but has hard a hard life, and I get the impression it's been a long time since it had a really good service. I'm looking to do a lot of this myself, starting with an oil change.

I've got the tools and oil etc. I just have a couple of really stupid questions.

1- I was hoping to clean the oil filter/screen out, am I biting off more than I can chew? I have ordered the Haynes manual but it has to come from the states and is about 4 weeks away. If anyone can offer me some advice on how to access the screen I'd appreciate it, as I'd like to get this done asap rather than wait for the manual to arrive...

2- (here's the really stupid question) When checking oil level on the CB250 do you screw the dipstick in or leave it sitting on the thread? A google search throws up both answers...

Thanks in advance!

2. Don't know about the oil screen. I'd expect the bike to have a replaceable, paper-element filter somewhere in the system, which will need replacement. There may be a wire screen somewhere as well, usually it's to take out the logs and blocks to protect the oil pump. However, I'm not familiar with the specific engine so can't help you find it.

Every bike with a screw-in dipstick that I've come across (including Hondas) needs the cap sitting on top of the threads. Not screwed in. Don't forget to ensure that the bike is vertical, or nearly so, when checking.

3. I agree with PatBs Post.