Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Cazzo'z own CX500 Cafe/Brat build

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' at netrider.net.au started by cazzo, Jan 19, 2013.

1. Well I've been talking about a CX500 build for a few years now. I bit the bullet between Christmas and New Years and bought myself a CX500 Custon, which I prefer over the regular CX500.
    This is a runner, but when it gets warm it carries on a little bit, but the main thing was the bike complete and going.

Picked it up a few days into 2013.
    [​IMG]

Started stripping it a couple days later.
    [​IMG]

Decided to mod the rear frame. The frame is pressed box section, so I sliced the inner off, made some lobster cuts and used a 3mm stell plate welded on the inside as the radius I wanted.
    After this, I templated the seat base and fabricated it from three sheets of 450gsm fibreglass.
    [​IMG]

Being a custom, it runs a 2-1 system. I wasn't sure about this but on reading it gives the best performance and I think note as well. Cut the old muffler off keeping the collector and tacked on a muffler I scored off a car, yet to decide on tip but the whole system will be black and headers wrapped.
    Hiding under the engine is a battery box I fabricated, once it's black it should be hardly visible.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

I didn't want typical clip ons so went a black flat/drag bar.
    All major parts dummied up.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Now in bits. Frame mods to be finished, pillion pegs cut off and some other brackets.

[​IMG]

2. This looks interesting!

Good Onya for biting that bullet. She'll come up apples mate.

Cam

3. Ahh brilliant stuff cazzo I shall be watching this one.

I like what you've done with the seat. I've been trying to figure out how to go about mine, so this is helpful :)