Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

carrying stuff on my bike

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by kellie_mc, Jan 20, 2008.

1. Hiya! I am new to riding, and have a very cute VTR. I need some advice on carrying stuff on my bike. I have seen lots of racks, and also bags attached to the petrol tank. What do you more experienced riders think is the way to go? Also, where should I go to get a rack fitted? After doing a bit of reading around tonight I gather that Peter Stevens may not be the people to go to? :wink:

2. Can fit the rack yourself if you follow the instructions and aren't braindead.

The cost is quite a bit though, $350 is often the price for a rack and bag combo.

Tank bags are cheaper options, can get them $50-150. Also you can get some bags that attach to the rear seat.
  3. I've been using an Oxford tank bag on the FZR, it's great.

Fixes with magnets so it's easy to grab and take with you and has back pack
    straps and seat (pillion) straps built in also, very good kit.

Big enough to take a helmet, got it for around $160.00 I think.
  4. I got a 2nd hand tank bag (magnets in base) which is great for all those pockety-things when riding, and also fits a pair of shoes when in its non-expanded state, but will easily accommodate a full-face helmet when 'expanded'.

eBay purchase - round $40......fantastic!
  5. thanks for all the advice guys - there's a lotta love on netrider!!
  6. thanks for all the advice guys - there's a lotta love on netrider!!
  7. I want a magnetic tank bag and I usually carry/wear a back pack.
    Heavy stuff in the bottom etc.
  8. How much stuff do you want to carry?
    Is it just for every day stuff or for weekends away?