Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Carb checking/cleaning Honda CB250

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by GreenFern, May 4, 2014.

1. Hey all,

I'm new to motorbikes, have had a licence for about two months and bought a 2003 CB250 to learn on, it's done about 25,000 k's. It's been going pretty well so far however I'm having a few issues getting it running smoothly from a cold start.

I use the choke to start it cold and when I think it's ready to ride (after a few mins) I will try to ride. A few times however I have had issues where it has stalled after slowing down to stop at lights or behind cars just after I have started riding it. The revs seem to drop off and then it stalls, unless I continue to use a bit of throttle after I've pulled the clutch in to stop. Usually have to get it going again with more choke. Once it seems fully warmed up it is fine. Is this normal?

After a bit of reading I have tried the following things:
    -Letting it warm up for longer idling with choke on full (about 5 mins) - maybe helped a bit
    -Started riding it sooner with choke on (some people think riding it with choke warms up engine faster/better than letting it idle - but there's mixed views out there on the interwebs!) - this probably works the best but I have to keep turning choke on while I'm riding as the button slowly slides in as I'm riding so I'm having to keep pulling it out which is awkward wearing gloves and trying to maintain clutch and brake control.