Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Car audio buffs -help needed-

Discussion in 'The Pub' at netrider.net.au started by robbied, Dec 30, 2008.

1. Im just getting into car audio and need some advice from you more experienced guys.

I just installed some MB quart FSA 216 component speakers in my car.
    The tweeters are mounted right next to the door handles pointing diagonally upwards towards the centre of my roof.
    The crossover is not adjustable on this model.

The problem is that the tweeters are really bright/overbearing, even with the highs turned down -5 on the headunit.

I have played around with their positioning and will continue to do so.
    If you could recommend any good spots to position bright tweeters that would be great.

Also, could experimenting with the phasing help? I don't know much about this so any advice would be appreciated.

Rob

2. have you tried turning defeat on your headunit? then the speakers will run with their own native crossover settings

3. Edit: My headunit does not have a defeat setting. What else can I do?

4. Rob,

Check the crossovers for the speakers. The old MBs used to have a tweeter adjustment on there (-2dB, -4dB, -6d8) for tweeter attenuation. MBs are typically quite top heavy. read: harsh

I think your model is the new chinese made MB Quart. Not actually the original MB Quart. (some chinese company bought the name and are now producing speakers with it. totally different from the old stuff)

If there isnt tweeter attenuation on the crossovers, you will need to get a head unit that has some sort of eq built in. OR, stick tape over the tweeters. That'll tone em down.

5. I've playing around with my headunit and the EQ settings on it.
    I set the highs to -8 which helped a lot.