Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Canuck moving Down Under, advice please!

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by pilotguy027, Aug 29, 2009.

1. Hi everyone,

I'll be moving down to Brisbane in Dec for the forseable future, and one of the first things I'd like to do is get a bike. I've had 5 years riding experience here in Canada and will definitely want to take advantage of year round riding.

I've been looking at some used motorcycle prices, but was wondering when would be the best time to purchase a bike? Do prices go up in summer in Bris, or do less people ride when it gets hot?

I've narrowed it down to an SV650 without fairings, I think it will offer a good amount of performance with minimal insurance costs. Any SV riders in Bris?

Thanks for any help!

2. As you mention, due to the fact you can ride pretty much all year arond, no there isn't a cheaper time to buy as far as I'm aware. But I'm a Meexican(sth of the border) in Melbourne.
    As for SV's, ask Cejay, he races one I believe and could give you the low down. Big change in weather extremes. Canada to Brisbane. Where aboots(in your local dialect) in Canada are you coming from?
  3. There's an aussie SV forum - svdownunder
  4. Thanks! I'm from Calgary, Alberta, in the western part of the country. Will miss the Rocky Mountains, but not the 6 months of winter, not to mention 3 months of decent riding. Bris will be a huge change, and in a good way!
  5. have you been forewarned of our dangerous fauna?
    hoopsnakes, dropbears, etc?

many visitors to this country aren't prepared for some of our native animals
  6. :rofl: :rofl:
  7. Yep got to watch out when down here.
    even the roos at night are killers.